Gimme some strings

When I say that I not only listen to folk music, some people laugh at me. Showing them this blog isn’t a really good idea either, since… Well, it’s loaded with folk music, so from time to time I share some different stuff. This time, it’s going to be some classical.

My knowledge of classical music is very limited, but that does not deny me the right to enjoy what I know… So here it goes:

Vaughan Williams – Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis

I remember once telling my uncle I knew this song. He didn’t believe me. But the fact is that it’s a shame that it’s not better known. Now I’m sure that people who like classical music know it alright, but people with no clue about classical music have probably listened to it… Once? And they probably don’t remember where they heard it (Yeah, they use it on Master and Commander, together with Bach’s Cello Prelude Nr. 1, amongst other fine pieces).

Grieg – In the Hall of the Mountain King

I’m sure this you know, or you’ve heard someone hum it once or twice. It’s really, really catchy.

George Gershwin – Bess you is my woman now

Some opera had to be in this list, right? And who better to sing it than great duo Armstrong – Fitzgerald. Gee, you didn’t use Summertime! Are you alright? Yeah, I don’t know much but a bit more than that I do…

Georg Friederich Händel – Zadok the Priest

Now how many of you recognised it? Yep, it’s the original theme for the Soccer Champions League. Poor Händel, if he knew what they are using this song for nowadays… He’d be really mad. And yes, in case you haven’t noticed, I don’t like soccer.

Leave a Reply

